The Glenda Lewis Critical Race Scholar Award

As an affirmation of its commitment to support racial equity and inclusion in graduate education at UNM, Graduate Studies announces The Glenda Lewis Critical Race Scholars Award Program. Named in memory of Glenda Lewis, a recognized graduate student leader, critical race theorist, and doctoral candidate in Language, Literacy, and Sociocultural Studies, the Program will provide five awards for eligible graduate students conducting research on topics related to critical race scholarship.

Topics might include but are not limited to:

  • higher education, intersectionality, and institutional change
  • research on race relations in the United States;
  • studies of slavery and its legacies;
  • issues of social, restorative, or transformational justice and racial equity;
  • research on Black Lives Matter or related movements in past or recent present;
  • literary, historical, archival, community, or artistic studies of black, indigenous, or Latinx expressive cultures, written or oral;
  • critical race theories, pedagogies, and activist practices;
  • critiques of historic, institutionalized, or structural forms of racism;
  • urban design, public policy, or environmental racism;
  • protest, activism, and social change

Recipients will be named Critical Race Scholars and will receive an award of $2,000 for the Fall 2021-Spring 2022 academic year to support and facilitate their research. Critical Race Scholars will form a cohort that will meet during the tenure of the award to share and discuss their research and will then have their work featured in a Graduate Studies hosted platform (webinar; Shared Knowledge Conference brief presentation; or other suitable venue to be determined in light of the Covid-19 pandemic).


Degree-seeking graduate students in academic good standing, with a minimum 3.5 GPA or above and no standing Fs, NCs, or Incompletes at the start of the Fall 2021 semester. Students must be full-time (9 credit hours or 6 credit hours and an assistantship).

Application Instructions

Please submit the following materials to Dr. Jesse Alemán, Associate Dean of Graduate Studies (

  • Application cover sheet
  • Letter of application
  • CV
  • A 250-word statement on how your research relates to critical race scholarship
You must also arrange to have two letters of recommendation sent under separate cover to Dr. Alemán at the same address. One letter must be from a faculty advisor, director, or committee chair.

Application Deadline

Applications must be submitted by May 3, 2021. Awards will be announced August 1st to begin at the start of the Fall 2021 semester.