Skip to main content

Staff

Name TitleRole

Leadership

Dr. Julie A. Coonrod
jcoonrod@unm.edu
505.277.3354
DeanChief academic officer of Graduate Studies; manages all matters pertaining to graduate academic programs, students and faculty; Member; UNM Deans' Council.
Dr. Jesse Aleman
(Effective 8.1.2019)
jman@unm.edu@unm.edu
(505) 277-0950
Associate DeanSupervises current student support programs, including the Graduate Teaching Academy and the fellowship, scholarship, and assistantship awards; assists the Dean in fundraising for Graduate Studies; represents Graduate Studies for Academic Program Reviews; and develops new initiatives to enhance the success of graduate and professional students.
Dr. Ricardo MaestasInterim Associate DeanSupervises current student support programs, including the Graduate Teaching Academy and the fellowship, scholarship, and assistantship awards; assists the Dean in fundraising for Graduate Studies; represents Graduate Studies for Academic Program Reviews; and develops new initiatives to enhance the success of graduate and professional students.

Dr. William L. Gannon
Publications
wgannon@unm.edu
(505) 277-3488

Academic Integrity and Research Ethics DirectorDirects all activities regarding academic and research integrity for Graduate Studies and as a liaison with the OVPR (research office). Along with assurance of RCR compliance and a number of other urgent priorities, also contributes to the effort of recruiting, retention, and graduation of outstanding students by analyzing trends in enrollment.

Administrative

Margaret Gonzales
margo@unm.edu
(505) 277-6062
Senior Operations ManagerManages Graduate Studies fiscal affairs and purchasing for office; supervises Graduate Studies support staff; handles all Graduate Studies Financial Aid awards, manages all staff Human Resource functions and payroll.
Heidi Krupicka
hkrupick@unm.edu
(505) 277-1206
Student Records AnalystManages incoming phone calls and inquiries, student records and the scanning of graduate assistantship contracts; greets visitors; provides general information concerning Graduate Studies policies and procedures and assists PACT.
Kylie Talamante
kyliect@unm.edu
(505) 277-2711
Administrative AssistantManages incoming phone calls and inquiries, student records and the scanning of graduate assistantship contracts; greets visitors; provides general information concerning Graduate Studies policies and procedures and assists PACT.
Anabelle Torres
atorres15@unm.edu
(505) 277-2711
Administrative AssistantManages incoming phone calls and inquiries, student records and the scanning of graduate assistantship contracts; greets visitors; provides general information concerning Graduate Studies policies and procedures and assists PACT.

Assistantships and Contracts

Marisa Castaneda
mcastan@unm.edu
(505) 277-7344
Graduate Contracts ManagerProvides financial aid advice, supervises processing of assistantship contracts.
Paul Brault
pbrault@unm.edu
(505) 277-5112
Graduate Contracts RepresentativeProvides general assistance with graduate assistantships processing.
Sissy Gonzales
scordero@unm.edu
(505) 277-2714
Graduate Contracts RepresentativeProvides general assistance with graduate assistantships processing.

Program Advancement and Completion

Robben Brown
rbaca@unm.edu
(505) 277-7398
Academic Affairs SpecialistProcesses forms for graduate curricula, new/revised degree/certificate programs, program reviews; maintains graduate faculty database; Graduate Studies liaison to Senate Graduate Committee and Project LINK; graduate catalog coordinator.
Tammie Ellis
tellis@unm.edu
(505) 277-6061
Sr. Academic AdvisorEvaluates student eligibility for examination and graduation; processes approvals for student committees; tracks academic standing; manages probation and suspension; serves as contact for petitions.
Mayra Estrada
mayra85@unm.edu
(505) 277-1578
Sr. Academic AdvisorProcesses Programs of Studies and Applications for Candidacy; reviews theses and dissertations' format; files manuscripts with UNM Libraries.

Graduate Student Employees

Nina Cooper
nmcooper@unm.edu
(505) 277-1135
OmbudsWorks with graduate students to navigate difficult conversations and manage conflict. By providing a space for students to share their concerns, helps clarify issues and assists by providing communication responses and/or recommending additional campus resources
Christine Shell
shellc@unm.edu
(505) 277-3488
Graphic Design, Marketing, and Web MaintenanceInitiates and maintains Graduate Studies marketing and communications. Provides graphic design services and administrative support focused particularly upon the promotion and coordination of meetings and events for Graduate Studies and the Professional & Academic Workshops (PAW) series. Develops and maintains websites for Graduate Studies and PNMGC.
Sue Wilder
swilder@unm.edu
(505) 277-3488
Learning Objects and Process ImprovementDevelops teaching workshops and materials; prepares written and on-line informational and promotional documents; completes basic research of higher education policies and procedures; assists Graduate Studies and the GRC in producing learning objects and web-based interactive instructional materials to provide asynchronous learning opportunities in best practices for graduate teaching, academic integrity and research ethics, and other issues vital to graduate education.

PNMGC Team

Glenda Lewis
GLewis@unm.edu
(505) 277-7397
Lead Graduate Project Assistant
Mark Narvaez
narvaezm@unm.edu
(505) 277-7397
Graduate Project Assistant
Theresah Napetey
tnapetey@unm.edu
(505) 277-7397
Graduate Project Assistant
Brandon De Flon
bdeflon1@unm.edu
(505) 277-7397
Graduate Project Assistant
Jaen Ugalde
ugalde@unm.edu
(505) 277-7397
Graduate Project Assistant

Water Resources

John Fleck
(505) 277-7397
Director
Annamarie Cordova
acordova@unm.edu
(505) 277-7759
Admin Assistant

Graduate Teaching Academy

Aeron Haynie
ahaynie@unm.edu
(505) 277-8728
Executive Director: Center for Teaching and Learning
Abdelbaset Haridy
baset@unm.edu
(505) 277-8728
Teaching Assistant
Daniel Shattuck
shattuck@unm.edu
(505) 277-8728
Graduate Assistant

**Subject to change without notice. It is advisable to call the office in advance and schedule an appointment.